Want to Find Some Peace? Meditate, Baby!

When the Center was open, every Thursday for six years I taught meditation classes. Many people still ask me how to meditate. There’s so many different ways to meditate! Simply put, meditating is focusing or concentrating on one thing, like Tai Chi. That’s why I love Tai Chi so much. There are many tools that can assist you in your meditation practice. For instance, a candle flame, music or humming. You can also meditate while gardening, doing dishes or other sedate activities.

However, there is one constant – BREATHING! My breathing has changed in the last year and a half since I closed the Center. Back then my breathing was what I call too serious. Not that I don’t take meditation serious – I do. I was being too serious in trying to control everything. Now I sing and hum to relax my energy. As I relax my breathing becomes deeper as I sing. Changing the way I meditate makes me feel more connected to the experience. Without listening to a meditation CD or reading from a book, I create my experience and it works perfect for me. You may want to try this idea – choose a meditation from a book and read it into a recorder. Listening to you tell you what to do – can be very powerful. I challenge every one of you to create your own experience! If you’d like to come to a guided meditation, I welcome you to my home on Thursday from 7:30 – 9:00 PM. Meditation in the Shining Wheel 

Leave a Reply

